Monday, October 12, 2009

Casting: a list of NO NOs

I've spent the last six months auditioning EXTENSIVELY in an effort to scare away all my audition demons and I feel like I've learned a heck of a lot along the way. But I also feel like I've put up with a ton of crap in the process...So I've made a little list for you guys of the most massive faux pas I have encountered.

I know, who am I to tell you what to do/not do? I promise I'm not trying to be a jerk about it. I know casting can be really rough for you. The only reason I even dare it is because the listed things made you look like a chump (or just plain unprofessional) and I feel like you don't want to give that impression out...no matter who you are or what company you represent.

So, here is my (friendly) list of things that you really shouldn't do when you're behind the table:

1. Give out sides/monologues which require a lot of preparation, watch me perform all of them for you, tell me how great I was, then immediately tell me the role I was reading for has been cast already. YOU WASTED MY (and your own) TIME.

2. Give out the wrong dates for your show, change the dates without telling your auditionees, or heaven forbid- not list your dates at all! You only make things harder for yourself.

3. If it is a heavy ensemble based and really "out there" show don't group up a bunch of actors randomly and ask them to bring back a finished product in 10 minutes. No, really...what the hell?

4. If it's an original play (which is awesome!) give us a clue about the character/s we are reading for and the general setting and plot. So little can be derived from the title alone.

5. Don't precast a show, but still hold auditions for that role. Just silly. And again, a waste of our time.

6. If accents are super important to you, let us know PRIOR to the audition day and we will prep it for you. Asking for it out of the blue is a little mean. This is especially true if it is either a new play, or a well known play being done in an entirely different way.

7. It's cool when you accept walk-ins. BUT, when people with appointments have to wait far longer than their scheduled time because you saw a bunch of walk- ins before them...that's NOT COOL.


ok- this is an ongoing list. will add more in the future...

No comments:

Post a Comment